News Youth Awards 2016

This event was on June 12, 2016

youth awards logo

They are our future!

Young people deserve a reward and a pat on the back for doing something wonderful and these awards are especially organised to do that.

The News’ Youth Awards are back for the third year running to celebrate the inspiring, heroic and courageous things our youngsters do.

Whether it’s raising money for charity, excelling at school, helping a friend, or living life in the face of adversity, we want our community to come together to recognise the triumphs of our young people.

Simply nominate someone who you think deserves to get recognised and then pick one or more of the 12 categories that best suit their achievement. We would like to hear the stories behind the nominations.

The awards are for anyone aged 18 or under.


Tickets to the awards ceremony on Sunday June 12 at the Kings Theatre are free. Everyone is welcome.

The doors will open at 1.00pm and the awards will start at 2.00pm.

Simply email and state who you are supporting,the number of tickets required, if you require wheelchair access or special seating requirements and the address you would like your tickets posted to.

Clare’s Story

Winning an award means a lot to the nominees, as Clare McConnachie can vouch for. The teenager from Drayton was named Star of the Family and overall winner after one of the toughest years of her young life. Clare is pillar of the community – a Brownie leader, a lifeguard, and a coach of Portsmouth’s synchronised swimming team.

Clare put her all into the community while being a carer for her father Craig, who was diagnosed with the debilitating genetic disorder Huntington’s disease 10 years ago. She supported her father at every turn. Clare dedicated her trophy to the memory of her father.

She still has fond memories of picking up the award at the ceremony at The Kings Theatre last June. ‘It was amazing to receive the award,’ says the 17 year-old. ‘It was so unexpected as there were so many amazing nominees. To me everything I do is just normal day-to-day life, so I was very grateful to have received this award.’

Reporter Jeff Travis, who helps to organise the awards, said: ‘We are very proud at The News to hold this awards ceremony. We are very fortunate to have a range of local businesses and organisations that give their backing to the awards.

‘We are hoping for some moving stories that will inspire. There are so many deserving young people in our community, so please take 10 minutes out of your day to nominate if you can.’


To nominate a young person please download, complete and return a nomination form – CLICK HERE
To see rules, criteria and full category details – CLICK HERE

You can also request a nomination form by e-mail

The deadline for nominations is 22nd April 2016.

It is easier for us to process nomination forms if they are filled in electronically and then e-mailed back to us, but we will also accept handwritten nomination forms.

Support these amazing awards by sponsoring a category.

For any queries or to find out how to be a sponsor contact Liz Parker on 02392 622206 or email


Arts/Media Star of the Year Sponsored by Fareham College
Charlotte Avery
Jasmin Hughes
Jessie Pearse
Skyla Swan
Harrison Jones

Best Friend of the Year
Zak Harris
Kate Russell

Fundraiser of the Year
Bo Wakley
Lewis Hine
Ben Price
Catherine Beachill
Maisie Hymers
Willow Travers-Ayre, Sonet
Strachan, Elena Barter, Sophie
Abigail Winfield
Bradley Harding-Martin and Liam Percival
Alfie Rawding
Hope Farren
Elouise Patterson

Hero of the Year
Lewis Hine
Marcus Allison
Jacob – Kanu Smith
Andrew Impey
Hannah Watts

Inspiration of the Year
Amiee Oldland
Chloe Hine
Helen Daddow
Megan Wade
Nikita White
Andrew Impey
Ben Price
Taylor Holloway
Theo Hornsey
Amber Howden
Lewis Smith
Archie Hayward

Learner of the Year Sponsored by Highbury College
Aimee Wragg
Alissa Hadley
Archie Hayward
Barnaby Miles
Lewis Wells
Zach Wheeler

Challenging a Disability
Amiee Oldland
Claudia Payne
Donald Ogilvie
Eden Rainbow Cooper
Ewan Butterworth Finlay Cousins
Hannah Watts
William Flynn
St Thomas More Catholic School
Matthew Nolan
Wyatt Humphrey

Music Star of the Year
Elliot Swann
Chelsea Lane
Barnaby Miles
Ben Graham
Ben Jackson
Chloe Hine
Luke Tuffs
Lily Gray
Jessica Fitzjohn
Lewis Smith

Stage Star of the Year Sponsored by Kings Theatre
Elliot Swann
Havant Dynamo Youth Theatre
Abby Grimshaw
Bluebell Lane
Fareham Musical Society Youth Theatre
India Taylor
Miranda Elliot
Adam Brombley
Horndean Community Association
Aaliyah Mathieu

Star of the Community Sponsored by Kenwood World
Andrew Palmer
Emily Frost
Hannah Woodason
Havant Volunteer Police Cadets
Charlie Wilson
Ellie Hill and Katie Edwards-Johnson
Millie Payne
Nikita White
The Futurators
Lilly Moore
Hope Farren
Callum Allan
Cadet Corporal Beatrice Grant-Howell

Star of the Family Sponsored by Verisona Law
Matthew Taylor
Ellie-Mae Wheeler
Theo Hornsey
Amber Howden

Star of the Environment of the Year
Luke Tuffs
QE Park – Little Squirrels – toddler/parent
Students at Churchers College
St Alban’s Cof E Assisted Primary

Overall Winner of the Year

With thanks to our sponsors:

Kenwood World

Verisona Law

Highbury College

Fareham College

Kings Theatre

Kings Theatre